ENTSO-E appoints new governance team

ENTSO-E New Governance Team Appointed

Photo: Damian Cortinas (left) and Zbyněk Boldiš (ENTSO-E)


June 29, 2023






June 29, 2023





The European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSO-E) elected its new governance team, with President Zbyněk Boldiš at its helm.

ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, has 39 member TSOs representing 35 countries. It is responsible for the secure and coordinated operation of the electricity system in the continent.

The new President is Zbyněk Boldiš from the Czech Republic’s ČEPS. The leadership includes Vice-President Asta Sihvonen-Punkka from Fingrid, Finland’s TSO, and Chair of the Board Damian Cortinas from the French RTE. The new board vice-chair of the Board will be elected in the first regular meeting, according to the announcement.

The electricity transmission sector is the backbone of the transition to a low-carbon energy system

“The electricity transmission sector is the backbone of the transition to a low-carbon energy system enabling further and faster integration of renewable energy and at the same time supporting flexible solutions to ultimately offer clean, reliable and affordable power to European consumers,” Sihvonen-Punkka said.

The new Board is composed of the following members: Dirk Biermann (50Hertz, Germany); Miguel del la Torre (REE, Spain); Liam Ryan (Eirgrid, Ireland); Johannes Bruun (Energinet, Denmark); Enrico Carlini (Terna, Italy); Eleni Charpantidou (IPTO, Greece); Susana De Almeida de Graaff (TenneT TSO BV, The Netherlands), Tahir Kapetanovic (APG, Austria); Nell Reimann (Swissgrid, Switzerland); Remigiusz Warzywoda (PSE, Poland); Anne Elisabeth Wedum (Statnett, Norway).

“Having served as a board member for two years, I’m looking forward to working alongside our president, board members and all TSOs, and to jointly bring our association a renewed forward-looking focus based on our ‘Vision of a power system for a carbon neutral Europe’, Chair of the Board Damian Cortinas added.

Boldiš and Cortinas are succeeding Hervé Laffaye (RTE) and Joachim Vanzetta from Amprion, one of the four German transmission system operators, respectively, ENTSO-E said.

Comments (0)

Be the first one to comment on this article.

Enter Your Comment
Please wait... Please fill in the required fields. There seems to be an error, please refresh the page and try again. Your comment has been sent.

Related Articles

Minister Dubravka Dedovic Djedovic Handanovic Female Leader of Energy Transition award

Minister Dubravka Đedović Handanović receives Female Leader in Sustainable Energy award

29 September 2023 - President of CPOR and Cofounder of WISE Serbia Branislava Jovičić handed the Female Leader in Sustainable Energy award to Minister Dubravka Đedović Handanović


Bulgaria could add as much as 42 GW from wind outside protected areas

29 September 2023 - A study found that Bulgaria is expected to increase its total wind power capacity by...


US, Canada approve financing for new nuclear reactors at Romania’s Cernavodă

29 September 2023 - US Exim Bank approved a USD 57 million loan and Canada offered CAD 3 billion in financing for new reactors in Romania's Cernavodă plant

Alcazar Energy fund acquires rights wind power Bijela Montenegro

Alcazar Energy fund acquires rights to wind power project Bijela in Montenegro

28 September 2023 - Luxembourg-based Alcazar Energy took over the Bijela wind farm project in Šavnik in Montenegro, of 118 MW