Call for postgrads, young professionals to apply for Energy Community Summer School

Call postgrads young professionals apply for Energy Community Summer School

Photo: Energy Community


January 18, 2022






January 18, 2022





The Energy Community Secretariat is receiving applications for the 2022 Energy Community Summer School in Sarajevo. It is an opportunity for postgraduate students and young professionals to gain in-depth knowledge of the energy transition.

Postgraduate students, energy researchers and young professionals from governmental institutions, companies, think tanks and the civil sector in the European Union and the surrounding countries are eligible to attend the 2022 Energy Community Summer School in Sarajevo.

It offers a combination of course work, guest lectures and social and cultural activities from August 20 to 27. Participants in the program at the Faculty of Political Science of the University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, will be taught by high-level scholars from academia as well as experts and practitioners from energy companies, the Energy Community Secretariat said.

Attendees will be up to 35 years of age – born in 1987 or later

Applications can be submitted by March 31. The announcement adds the selected group would gain an in-depth knowledge of the energy transition in its full complexity and get a platform for exchange and shaping the sectors’ future. Attendees will be up to 35 years of age – born in 1987 or later.

Like in the past years, the Energy Community Summer School focuses on energy sectors in transition, in particular in South-Eastern and Eastern Europe. The program takes into account the broader geographical context in Europe and possibly beyond.

The program takes into account the broader geographical context in Europe and possibly beyond

The sixth summer school will cover scientific, legal, economic, cultural, political and technical aspects of the energy supply chain and include both theoretical elements and practical training through case studies and mock cases. The best group will receive an award.

Citizens from the following countries are eligible for free participation: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo*, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Turkey and the 27 EU Member States. The secretariat said there would be up to five additional slots for those who do not meet the geographical criteria.

Students participating in the summer school will have a chance to earn three ECTS points.

* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.
Comments (0)

Be the first one to comment on this article.

Enter Your Comment
Please wait... Please fill in the required fields. There seems to be an error, please refresh the page and try again. Your comment has been sent.

Related Articles

Climate change, water scarcity jeopardizing French nuclear fleet

24 March 2023 - The safety and operation of 56 existing reactors, as well as the planned ones, must be adapted to increasing climate extremes

Serbia monitoring, reporting and verifying GHG emissions world bank loan

Serbia to start monitoring, reporting, verifying emissions by 2026

24 March 2023 - The introduction of an MRV system derives from the terms of the government's loan agreements with the World Bank

virtual power plants distributed production aggregators pandurevci nosbih

Virtual power plants emerge in BiH as seven aggregators pool 120 MW in total

24 March 2023 - The Independent System Operator in Bosnia and Herzegovina (NOSBiH) foresees an increase to 250 MW by the end of the year


Kosovo* outlines energy transition until 2031 in strategic document

24 March 2023 - Kosovo* aims at 1.6 GW in renewables capacity by 2031, with 340 MWh in batteries. It opted to reconstruct at least three coal plant units.